Volunteers

Volunteers make SIGUCCS happen and we are happy to have your help – whether you can give one hour or several, it all makes a difference.

Positions are described below. You will be able to sign up for your own shifts, on a first come first served basis.

If you’re interested, please fill out this form to let us know your
volunteering preferences!

SIGUCCS 2017 Core Committee
SIGUCCS 2017 Core Committee

Positions

Pre-Conference Setup

  • Pre-Conference Seminar nametag setup and attendance tracking
  • Registration bag stuffing
  • Occasional setup assignments and errands

Session Chair

  • Pre-Event: Correspond with presenter(s) prior to event to obtain bio
  • Call session to order and introduce speaker at conference
  • Provide 15 min, 5 min and End timekeeping notice to help presenter
  • Formally end session, remind attendees to send feedback

Registration Desk Host

  • Welcome attendees as they arrive
  • Provide registration packet with name tag and conference info
  • Answer miscellaneous questions about schedule, wifi, etc…
  • Direct attendees to conference rooms, hospitality suite, restrooms, etc…

Photographers

  • Document all conference activities and attendee participation
    • Workshops
    • Sessions
    • Keynote
    • Awards
    • Morning/afternoon/evening gatherings

Candids from conference activities Being a volunteer is an effective way to meet and connect with others while contributing to the success of the conference. Please consider volunteering before, during, or after the conference to assist with setup, greet attendees and answer questions at the registration desk, serve as session chair to introduce presenters and more!

Interested in volunteering? Sign up today!
Questions? siguccs-2017-conference@docs.siguccs.org.

SIGUCCS 2017 Core Committee

Conference Committee

PositionNameSchoolEmail
Communications AwardsLisa BrownUniversity of Rochesterlisa.brown@rochester.edu
Awards Selection CommitteeBob Haring-SmithRobert.Haring-Smith@mail.wvu.edu
Exhibitor ChairAllan ChenMuhlenbergallanchen@muhlenberg.edu
First Timers CoodinatorDinah LoganTexas A&M Universitydinahlogan@tamu.edu
Graphic DesignerBecky CowinWash U St. Louisbecky.cowin@wustl.edu
Hospitality Room CoordinatorEric HandlerMacalester Collegeehandler@macalester.edu
Mobile App CoordinatorShawn Plummerplummer@geneseo.edu
Photography CoordinatorMelissa BauerBaldwin Wallace Universitymbauer@bw.edu
Poster Session CoordinatorLisa BarnettNYU School of Lawlisa.barnett@nyu.edu
Pre-Conference SeminarsBeth RuggUNC Charlotteerugg@uncc.edu
Publications ChairBecky Cowin / Kelly WainwrightWash U St. Louis / Lewis & Clark Collegebecky.cowin@wustl.edu / kelly@lclark.edu
Publicity ChairAlexa SpigelmyerPenn State Universityajs44@psu.edu/ajspigelmyer@gmail.com
Registration ChairShawn PlummerSUNY Geneseoplummer@geneseo.edu
Social CoordinatorRobert FrickeWhitman Collegefrickerg@whitman.edu
Social Media CoordinatorMo NishiyamaOregon Health & Science Universitynishiyam@ohsu.edu
Track Chair 1Chris KingNC State Universitychking@ncsu.edu
Track Chair 2Dan HerrickUniversity of Colorado Boulderdan.herrick@colorado.edu
Track Chair 3Melissa DoernteStanford Universitymdoernte@stanford.edu
Track Chair 4John TyndallPenn State Universityjbt@psu.edu
Track Chair 5Kelly WainwrightLewis & Clark Collegekelly@lclark.edu
Volunteer CoordinatorKendra StrodeCarleton Collegekstrode@carleton.edu
WebmasterMiranda Carney-MorrisLewis & Clark Collegemccm@lclark.edu

Connect | Discover