• SIGUCCS Awards & Grants
  • Penny Crane Award
  • Hall of Fame
  • Communication Awards
  • Awards Selection Committee

  • Conference Attendance Grants

    Grants for Participation in the Annual SIGUCCS Conference

    The purpose of the SIGUCCS Grant program is to provide partial support for individuals in institutions of higher education to participate in the annual SIGUCCS Conference. This support is funded by SIGUCCS and consists of a full registration to the Annual Conference; hotel room accommodations; and registration for one half-day pre-conference seminar.


    A. Qualifications— To be considered for a grant, an applicant must be a current full-time staff member in an institution of higher education. Preference will be given to those who have at least six months of experience in supporting information technology users. We particularly encourage submissions from employees at institutions that have not been represented at a SIGUCCS Conference in the past five years.

    B. Grant Applications— Grant applications may be submitted at any time between June 1 and July 31 for that year's conference. Applications must be submitted by completing the application form (PDF). All applications will be acknowledged by return email.

    C. Grant Notifications— On or before August 24, applicants for the current year will be notified if they did or did not receive a grant. Unsuccessful applications will not be retained; new applications must be submitted each year. Successful applicants will be given appropriate information about how to use the grant. Successful applicants must submit an acceptance of the grant by August 31, or the grant will be cancelled. Acceptance must be sent via email. As of Fall 2011, a maximum of three grants will be awarded for the Annual Conference. No individual may receive a grant for the Conference more than once.

    D. Grant Components— Each grant will consist of three parts: a full registration for the Annual Conference, complimentary registration for one half-day pre-conference seminar, and up to three nights of lodging during the conference at the conference hotel. All additional costs, including travel expenses, a second workshop registration, or additional nights at the hotel must be assumed by the award recipient, hopefully with support from his or her institution.

    Grant Recipients

    Fall 2017
    Deyu Hu, Virginia Tech
    Maria Contreras Michel, University of Texas at El Paso
    Ralph M. Miller, University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown

    Fall 2016
    Robert Morris, Mount Mary University
    Theresa Duhart, Highline Community College
    Rebekah Cowin, Washington University in St. Louis

    Fall 2015
    Merri Schaffner, University of South Florida
    Desiree Guilandri, Cornish College of the Arts
    Dennis Thornstand, Linfield College

    Fall 2014
    Andy Hogan, Keuka College
    Barbara Long, WVNET
    Eric Lemmons, Abilene Christian

    Fall 2013
    Yelena Lyudmilova, Essex County College
    Steve Mihm II, The College at Brockport, State University of New York
    Julie VanLeuven, Idaho State University

    Fall 2012
    Cody Down, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
    Chris Olance, Adams State University
    Jackie Thames, University of North Texas

    Fall 2011
    Lori Duquette, Lambton College
    Susan Kerr, Georgia Gwinnett College
    Shannon Pretko, Cedar Crest College

    Spring 2011
    Steve McKinney, Moravian College
    Gary Sullivan, University of Oregon
    David Kleckner, UNC- Chapel Hill
    Melissa Bauer, Baldwin-Wallace College
    Elizabeth Wagnon, Texas A&M University

    Fall 2010
    Stephen McTigue, Roanoke College
    Patrick Pow, University of Washington - Tacoma
    Ayola Singh-Kreitz, University of Florida
    Gary Wong, Community College at Lingnan University
    Jay Yates, IUPUI

    Spring 2010
    Melody Buckner, University of Arizona
    Navneet Goyal, Birla Institute of Technology and Science
    Kristen Dietiker, University of Washington
    Marsha McGough, Bastyr University
    Kim Tracy, Northeastern Illinois University

    Fall 2009
    Yvonne Clark, Juniata College
    Savonne McNeill, Gaston College
    Charles Hall, Alabama State University
    Ted Wheeler, Northwest Nazarene University
    Jeremy J. Henle, Illinois Wesleyan University
    Erik Kosta, University of San Diego

    Spring 2009
    Robert Campbell, City University of New York, Graduate Center
    Kirk Klaphaak, Indiana University Southeast
    Tom McMurtry, Montreat College
    Allan Chen, Santa Clara University, School of Law
    Gail Farally-Semerad, Widener University

    Fall 2008
    Raymond Cheung, Kansas State University
    Andrew Cunningham, Kenyon College
    Lisa McKinney, Linfield College
    Chris Koerner, St. Louis University
    Jeremiah Ray, Valparaiso University


    SIGUCCS is the Special Interest Group on University and College Computing Services | Contact Us | Page Revised: August 23, 2017